Choosing a career path by finding who you are

(This post was originally published on the 27th October of 2016 in my Linkedin page and can be found here)

I must admit I was a little shocked yesterday, when our career counselor implied that we had to look further than our skills and competences, when looking for a job. I come from a country with very high levels of unemployment, and I am used to hear stories of people just needing a job, any job, in order to survive. Being able to actually pick and choose a job that will make me happy seemed somewhat utopian. In my mind, post-graduate life consisted of looking for a job that I did not hate, which would allow me to make ends meet until I could someday move onto something better.

Likewise, the idea of companies looking into who I am on top of what I can do seems logical but strangely foreign. Of course an employer is hiring the whole package and not just a groomed CV and a customized cover letter, so it makes sense they would want to know who is on the other side of the table. I am simply used to thinking about jobs in terms of fulfilling a function and not joining a community.

All in all, it got me thinking about what I am like. And while contemplation and soul-searching are hobbies of mine, objective self-examination is an oxymoron. So I took a personality test online and used the very comprehensive results (those that I deemed accurate anyway) to try to draw a picture of who I have become and what makes me tick.

I have come to realize that one of my strongest motivators is the awareness that I am making a change. I would never have accepted my current PhD position if the project wasn’t directly tied to a practical application of my research that could help increase sustainability in agriculture. Knowledge for the sake of knowledge is great, but not for me.

When I look back onto my past work experience, I realize that the most intense memories are those of the days when I helped solved conflicts between people, every time a child hugged me and thanked me because I had listened to them when they needed me to, helping newcomers feel a little less lost and a little more welcome in this new country of ours. Making a difference in people’s lives, even a tiny one, really makes my day. I find great satisfaction in resolving small day-to-day challenges and in creating order from chaos. I am an avid planner and my adaptability to change results from a combination of thorough analysis of risks and opportunities, and an open-minded attitude towards alternative ideas and perspectives. I accept change, when it is necessary and made for the right reasons. I choose empathy over judgement whenever I can, and tend to take responsibilities and interactions personally. This means that sometimes conflict at work will leak into my personal life, and vice versa. I work hard to try to exceed expectations and need and appreciate feedback, although high praise often makes me uncomfortable.

When being part of a team, it is important to me that everyone feels included and appreciated. It is just as important that everyone is willing to put as much effort as possible and that workload is shared in a just manner. I love collaborative work, but I have low tolerance and little patience for people who try to take advantage of colleagues or situations. I find no pride or joy in overloading myself with work to meet a deadline, but I do it if I have to.

I enjoy looking at the bigger picture and find managerial positions appealing, albeit I have no real desire for power or authority. I find most pleasure in being of service, in helping things run smoothly and minimizing conflict. I am too sensitive to make harsh and sometimes necessary business decisions, e.g. firing employees who don’t necessarily deserve it, and I would rather think of myself as a colleague with a different set of responsibilities than a boss. As a subordinate I am dedicated and will remain fully committed for as long as my vision aligns with my company’s. Upon violation of my principles, I will move on to work elsewhere.

In the realm of personal relationships, I am both social and introverted. I equally enjoy the company of people or a good book, I have many acquaintances but few friends. Most of my former jobs – and certainly those I enjoyed the most – were in connection to the education or service sectors, where I was in direct contact with people.

I will never be fully comfortable in the spotlight, but I will take the stand when it is necessary.  I set high value on flexibility and work-life balance, as family is one of my top priorities. Because I strive to give my best at everything I do, I need to achieve a good equilibrium between my role as an employee and as a family member. Only in balance will I find true happiness.

So what does my perfect job look like? Probably a purposeful job that aims at helping people/organizations/other companies or maybe even make a slightly better world. Add a good work environment in which people feel valued and colleagues collaborate instead of compete, preferably managed by a competent leader who wants the best for the organization, but also for his or her employees. It should be somewhat flexible when it comes to working arrangements and at a reasonable driving distance from wherever I’m residing at that time.

This much (I think) I know.

Whether I am setting unrealistic goals for myself, only time will tell. But oh! it feels good to start visualizing one’s path a little bit!

Leave a comment