Danish language wonders

Oh, fellow expats out there… how great is it that even after 3 years trying to learn Danish, one can still be surprised by it? (Alternative reading: isn’t it annoying not being able to say one knows the language after 3 years trying to learn it?)

In this particular occasion I am referring to the term Bygningsfejl, which is literally translated into “building error”. And what is that, you say? Well, it’s what I was told I had when I went to have my eyes checked. Yeah, I was plainly and openly told I am wrongly built. To make things clear it’s also called astigmatism, but the Danish word made me want to call my mum and blame her for my recent need for glasses.

On the same line, I watched a video earlier today that shows how Danish language evolved from Norwegian and why it sounds like it sounds. It’s basically a must-see:

(Okay, so maybe it’s not completely historically accurate… but it’s fun, isn’t it? :D)

So what about you people, can you think of any wonders the Danish language has blessed us with?

Listening: Ray LaMontagne – Let it be me

4 thoughts on “Danish language wonders

  1. Oh, Danish blessed us with one of my personal favorites ‘Rødgrød Med Fløde’… Which, I’m not sure that any non-danish person, would be able to pronounce… 😀

    Like

    • Oh Ekaterina, that is a classic indeed! 😀 thanks!
      I have a lot of trouble with the “ø” sound, specially when I have to distinguish it from “o”, as in kø vs. ko 😛

      Like

  2. You’ve only found the low-hanging fruit of the difficulties with Danish. Wait til you start to try and write/speak grammatically correct.

    Det danske sprog er en svær en. 😉

    Like

    • Dear jdm,

      I have already tried to be grammatically correct, and I gotta say my Danish it is quite good-ish when writing, but I still struggle when I want to speak at a normal pace 🙂 I personally think that the vocabulary is a lot more difficult than the grammar rules (of which there aren’t many anyway, haha!), but it is a very subjective matter.

      Thanks for your comment!

      Like

Leave a comment